By appointment only 972-578-7097 972-578-7097

Do You Think It’s Not Worth Fighting Your DWI Charge? Think Again.

If you think it isn’t worth defending yourself against a drunk-driving charge, you may want to reconsider. A conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI) can affect your life for many years to come.

Whether this is your first driving while intoxicated offense or you have multiple drunk-driving convictions on your record, you face serious criminal penalties if convicted. A DWI can also result in difficulty finding employment, higher auto insurance rates, driver surcharges and a suspended driver’s license.

In Texas, a DWI is not eligible for expunction and will remain on your criminal record forever. The only ways to prevent having a DWI on your record are to have the charges reduced or dismissed by the prosecutor and to be acquitted at trial.

Don’t Plead Guilty To DWI Before You Talk To An Experienced Defense Attorney

To discuss possible ways to avoid or minimize the consequences of your DWI charges, call 972-578-7097. We answer our phone 24 hours a day.

Aggressive Defense Against DWI Charges In The Dallas Area

Stephen H. Miller, Attorney at Law, provides aggressive defense against DWI charges to people in Dallas, Plano and the surrounding areas. Criminal defense lawyer Stephen H. Miller will do everything legally and ethically possible to help you beat drunk-driving charges, from investigating whether there was probable cause to stop your vehicle to challenging blood and breath tests and moving to throw out illegally obtained evidence.

Criminal Penalties And Other Consequences Of Drunk Driving In Texas

  • Jail time or prison time ranging from a minimum of 72 hours for a first offense to a prison sentence of 2 to 10 years for a felony DWI
  • Suspended license
  • Annual driver responsibility surcharges for three years after your conviction, ranging from $1,000 for a first offense to $2,000 if your blood alcohol content was .16 or greater
  • Fines and community service between 24 and 100 hours of community service and a fine of up to $4,000 for a second or subsequent offense
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Alcohol assessment and/or treatment
  • High-risk insurance costs
  • Probation

If you are charged with DWI or refusal to take a Breathalyzer or Intoxilyzer test, you owe it to yourself to fight the charges. The consequences of a DWI conviction are simply too great to just plead guilty. There are effective methods of defense in drunk driving cases.

Call or email us to schedule a meeting with an experienced attorney. You can reach us 24 hours a day by phone at 972-578-7097.