By appointment only 972-578-7097 972-578-7097

How can DWI in Texas affect my license?

DWI laws are stringent in the state of Texas. You may get a driving while intoxicated charge (DWI) when your blood alcohol is slightly above 0.08 percent and 0.04 percent when driving a commercial vehicle. If your blood alcohol concentration levels are above that, you may be pulled over and taken trough several tests, among them being a breathalyzer that helps to detect the blood alcohol content from your breath. If you are not fit to be on the road, the traffic enforcer has the right to arrest you and tow your car.

When lawfully arrested for a DWI in Texas, the department of motor vehicles (DMV) may impose a license revocation penalty. Refusing to take a chemical test may also lead to the arresting officer confiscating your license immediately. You will then receive a “notice of suspension” that acts as the temporary driving permit. You may request a hearing to contest the suspension within 15 days from the day of arrest. When you do not ask for a hearing, your license will stay in suspension for 131 days since the day of your arrest.

By refusing to admit to a chemical test, you violate the Texas implied consent laws. You may then receive an additional 180 days license suspension once your temporary license expires. However, if the court drops your charges, you will not get the extra suspension.

You may also get an occupational license that you might use to travel to necessary places like work, home, and school during your suspension. However, you need to provide evidence that you are financially responsible and that your car has an ignition interlock device (IID).

A first charge DWI in Texas gets you charged with a class B misdemeanor. If your BAC was more than 0.15 percent, you might automatically get a class A misdemeanor charge.

This information is for educational purposes. It is not meant to give any advice.